For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

UvA Thesis Prize 2022

Alumni who graduated at the UvA between 1 February 2021 and 1 February 2022 and received a mark of 8.5 or higher for their Master's thesis can participate in the UvA Thesis Prize 2022.

UvA Thesis Prize 2022

The winner of the UvA Thesis Prize 2022 will be announced on Tuesday 28 June at 17.30 hrs at SPUI25. The evening will be hosted by Anna Gimbrère: science journalist, presenter and alumnus of Theoretical Physics at the UvA. The winner will receive 3,000 euros, the other faculty winners will each receive 1,000 euros. View the faculty winners here.

The submission period for the UvA Thesis Award 2022 has closed.

The jury judges the submissions by quality and originality. ‘Judging the submissions each year is a lot of work but certainly no punishment’, says chairman of the 2020 jury Fred Weerman. ‘It is a pleasure to take note of interesting, original, well researched and well worded findings of students about the many different topics. The width of the fields of science of the UvA can also be seen in the theses. That is why it sometimes seems that we are comparing apples to pears, but the jury is very capable and usually in unison.’

Lotte Mertens

In 2021, the UvA Thesis Prize went to Lotte Mertens (Faculty of Science) for her thesis Spontaneous Unitary Violations and Effective Non-linearity in Relation to Quantum State Reduction.


Questions about the UvA Thesis Prize can be sent to